banner USF Home College of Arts & Sciences OASIS myUSF USF A-Z Index

USF Home > College of Arts and Sciences > Department of Physics

Physics

Solid State & Materials Physics



Basic and applied research in Solid-state and Materials Physics at the University of South Florida aims to improve the understanding of physical phenomena and to develop advanced materials and processes for technologically significant applications. The range of topical areas of interest include carbon nanotubes, heterostructures, magnetic semiconductors, magnetic nanostructures, multiferroics, nanocomposites, novel semiconductors and intermetallics, quasicrystals, quantum dots, oxides, organic electronic materials, energetic materials, polymers, and colloids. Growth capabilities include a variety of physical techniques such as high-temperature and thermal decomposition for single-crystal and bulk polycrystalline materials; RF magnetron sputtering as well as laser, plasma and microwave methods for the fabrication of thin-film and quantum-dot structures; and chemical techniques for nanomaterials synthesis. A broad range of physical-properties-measurement capabilities over a wide temperature range together with theory and computational modeling at the electronic, atomistic, and coarse-grained levels are employed in investigating biomaterials, soft materials such as polymers, coatings, molecular electronics, spintronics, multifunctional electronic devices, and power-conversion technologies. Access to a four-thousand-CPU cluster is available for computational modeling of materials. Strong links with major national and international facilities are typical in this interdisciplinary research program. Research projects are funded by the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, the Army Research Office, the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, the Department of Energy, the National Science Foundation, the ACS Petroleum Research Fund, the Office of Naval Research, and the U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command.

NameContact InfoResearch
Arena, Dario - Associate Professor
Office: ISA 4210
Phone: 813/974-6395
E-mail: darena@usf.edu
Website:

             
Batzill, Matthias - Professor
Office: ISA 5106
Phone: 813/974-0618
E-mail: mbatzill@usf.edu
Website: http://shell.cas.usf.edu/~mbatzill

             
Chang, Robert - Professor Emeritus
Office: ISA 2019
Phone: 813/974-4326
E-mail: chang@usf.edu
Website:

             
Djeu, Nicholas - Professor Emeritus, Fellow of Optical Society of America
Office: ISA 5108
Phone: 813/974-2121
E-mail: ndjeu@usf.edu
Website:

             
Gutierrez, Humberto Rodriguez - Assistant Professor
Office: ISA 4218
Phone: 813/974-0330
E-mail: humberto3@usf.edu
Website:

             
Hoy, Robert - Assistant Professor
Office: ISA 4209
Phone: 813/974-0063
E-mail: rshoy@usf.edu
Website: http://labs.cas.usf.edu/softmattertheory/

             
Jiang, Xiaomei - Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Admissions
Office: ISA 4214
Phone: 813/974-7765
E-mail: xjiang@usf.edu
Website: http://shell.cas.usf.edu/~xjiang

             
Karaiskaj, Denis - Associate Professor
Office: ISA 4208
Phone: 813/974-0457
E-mail: karaiskaj@usf.edu
Website: http://faculty.cas.usf.edu/karaiskaj
Lisenkov, Sergey - Research Assistant Professor
Office: ISA 5104
Phone: 813/396-9220
E-mail: slisenk@usf.edu
Website: http://shell.cas.usf.edu/~slisenk/index.html

             
Mukherjee, Pritish - Professor
Office: ISA 2022D
Phone: 813/974-3293
E-mail: pritish@usf.edu
Website: http://labs.cas.usf.edu/lamsat/

             
Muller, Andreas - Associate Professor
Office: ISA 4217
Phone: 813/974-2577
E-mail: mullera@usf.edu
Website: http://faculty.cas.usf.edu/mullera/

             
Nolas, George - Distinguished University Professor, Fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science, Fellow of the American Physical Society
Office: ISA 6214
Phone: 813/974-2233
E-mail: gnolas@usf.edu
Website: http://shell.cas.usf.edu/~gnolas

             
Oleynik, Ivan - Professor
Office: ISA 5109
Phone: 813/974-8186
E-mail: oleynik@usf.edu
Website: http://msl.cas.usf.edu

             
Phan, Manh-Huong - Research Associate Professor
Office: ISA 5004
Phone: 813/974-4322
E-mail: phanm@usf.edu
Website: http://shell.cas.usf.edu/~mphan

             
Ponomareva, Inna - Associate Professor
Office: ISA 5103
Phone: 813/974-7286
E-mail: iponomar@usf.edu
Website: http://shell.cas.usf.edu/~iponoma/index.html

             
Rabson, David - Associate Professor and Chair of Physics Department
Office: ISA 5107
Phone: 813/974-1207
E-mail: davidra@ewald.cas.usf.edu
Website: http://ewald.cas.usf.edu/

             
Srikanth, Hariharan - Professor
Office: ISA 5110
Phone: 813/974-2467
E-mail: sharihar@usf.edu
Website: http://faculty.cas.usf.edu/sharihar/

             
Witanachchi, Sarath - Professor and Graduate Director
Office: ISA 5111
Phone: 813/974-2789
E-mail: switanach@usf.edu
Website: http://labs.cas.usf.edu/lamsat/

             
Woods, Lilia - Professor and Associate Chair
Office: ISA 5105
Phone: 813/974-2862
E-mail: lmwoods@usf.edu
Website: http://faculty.cas.usf.edu/lmwoods/