banner USF Home College of Arts & Sciences OASIS myUSF USF A-Z Index

USF Home > College of Arts and Sciences > Department of Physics

Physics

Atomic Molecular & Optical Physics



Atomic, molecular and optical physics is pursued within the Department of Physics and covers a wide range of theoretical and experimental research in low energy studies of atomic and molecular materials often using laser, optical, phonon, and electrical excitation and subsequent spectroscopic analysis of the resultant response. Faculty research includes optical induced energy transfer in surface plasmas and nanoparticles, unique optical wavelength processing in digital holography, solid state laser spectroscopy, optical nonlinear optics, laser remote sensing of the atmosphere, laser detection of organics in water, laser ablation in thin film deposition and optical process diagnostics, nanostructures for opto-electronics, laser assisted fiber optic crystal growth, and high-resolution molecular optical absorption research for laser sensor applications. Theory and computational analysis are also conducted to complement the experimental research, including development of computer codes to model laser transmission through the atmosphere, and computational algorithms to model the deconvolution of a multi-wavelength digital hologram for 3-D bio-image reconstruction.

NameContact InfoResearch
Chang, Robert - Professor Emeritus
Office: ISA 2019
Phone: 813/974-4326
E-mail: chang@usf.edu
Website:

             
Djeu, Nicholas - Professor Emeritus, Fellow of Optical Society of America
Office: ISA 5108
Phone: 813/974-2121
E-mail: ndjeu@usf.edu
Website:

             
Jiang, Xiaomei - Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Admissions
Office: ISA 4214
Phone: 813/974-7765
E-mail: xjiang@usf.edu
Website: http://shell.cas.usf.edu/~xjiang

             
Johnson, Dale - Professor Emeritus
Office: ISA 4212
Phone: 813/974-5125
E-mail: dalejohnson@usf.edu
Website:

             
Karaiskaj, Denis - Associate Professor
Office: ISA 4208
Phone: 813/974-0457
E-mail: karaiskaj@usf.edu
Website: http://faculty.cas.usf.edu/karaiskaj

             
Killinger, Dennis - Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, Fellow of Optical Society of America
Office: ISA 4216
Phone: 813/974-3995
E-mail: killinge@usf.edu
Website: http://www.cas.usf.edu/lidarlab/index.html

             
Kim, Myung - Professor, Fellow of Optical Society of America
Office: ISA 6218
Phone: 813/974-5223
E-mail: mkkim@usf.edu
Website: http://shell.cas.usf.edu/~mkim/

             
Mukherjee, Pritish - Professor
Office: ISA 2022D
Phone: 813/974-3293
E-mail: pritish@usf.edu
Website: http://labs.cas.usf.edu/lamsat/

             
Muller, Andreas - Associate Professor
Office: ISA 4217
Phone: 813/974-2577
E-mail: mullera@usf.edu
Website: http://faculty.cas.usf.edu/mullera/

             
Muschol, Martin - Associate Professor
Office: ISA 6216
Phone: 813/974-2564
E-mail: mmuschol@usf.edu
Website: http://faculty.cas.usf.edu/mmuschol/

             
Nolas, George - Distinguished University Professor, Fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science, Fellow of the American Physical Society
Office: ISA 6214
Phone: 813/974-2233
E-mail: gnolas@usf.edu
Website: http://shell.cas.usf.edu/~gnolas

             
Shi, Zhimin - Assistant Professor
Office: ISA 4202
Phone: 813/974-3611
E-mail: zhiminshi@usf.edu
Website:

             
Zhou, Jiangfeng - Assistant Professor
Office: ISA 4205
Phone: 813/974-5659
E-mail: jiangfengz@usf.edu
Website: